Coming to a close…

June 20, 2006 at 10:50 pm 4 comments

I love going for academic conferences – you get to meet potential SOs people and exchange interesting (and workable) ideas on possible research directions. On top of that, you usually have the chance to go tour the place and enjoy the receptions and banquets that come along with it.

Got to know a Malaysian girl in her 2nd year of PhD study in my major! at Cambridge. Too bad she is leaving early tomorrow morning. I would have asked if she is keen to go visit a national park nearby. The Jeep would come in handy. Heh, I actually took the initiative to go strike up a conversation and later ask to take a photo together. Nice girl next to me and beautiful mountains in the background; I doubt I will have such a chance again anytime soon. Best of all, she is still single. 🙂 Too bad she will be across the Atlantic. Darn! At least I have her contact details.

I like the Singaporean/Malaysian(?) accent and it feels at home instantly (in a foreign land). Not many girls here at the PhD level speak like this. She also has a good idea of my work and I too, of hers. So many common topics to talk about, yet so little time.

I had a good talk with an alum from my present institution who is now in one of the national labs that I want to go to. Contrary to what some might think, things are quite happening there – not just work, but social life. Except the New Mexico labs.

Will be visiting two more places before returning to the daily grind in my own lab. Now I really feel like transferring school.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Transfer between institutions and gender imbalance (aka missing females) Pictures of DPRK…and of my trip to the Mountain State

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Unknown  |  June 21, 2006 at 7:30 pm

    Somehow I’m imagining my TAs and/or professors meeting up and hooking up at their conferences. You are, afterall in graduate school I think…

    But yeah, same imagery remains.

    Reply
  • 2. L'oiseau rebelle  |  June 21, 2006 at 9:38 pm

    >> Now I really feel like transferring school.

    Or you could get a job there after graduation.

    Reply
  • 3. littlecartnoodles  |  June 22, 2006 at 11:19 pm

    Sorry, going off-topic here : is the middle aircraft in your masthead picture an F-86 Sabre ?

    Reply
  • 4. takchek  |  June 23, 2006 at 9:49 am

    Yes it is. This particular aircraft fought in Korea.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


takchek's Photos

Pages

Recent Posts

Blog Stats

  • 68,704 hits
June 2006
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  
_uacct = "UA-1905437-2"; urchinTracker();

